Fave Sweater

As I’ve been on the free pattern prowl, I recently came upon the Fave Top pattern available for free on the Tessuti website!

I was really excited when I saw this top because, as you know, I love me a loose fitting top over some leggings or skinnies.

The pattern is really simple – only two pieces (sleeves included on the bodice pieces) and the end result has a really beautiful drape both in the front and at the back.

I decided to make a “Fave Sweater” to add to my Winter wardrobe using a black and tan cotton ribbed knit I bought from Mood (online) back in August.

I also decided to lengthen the sleeves (to the wrist) so I would be able to wear this look to work.

Fave_sweater_Judy_logo

I have to say that I love the drape of this pattern!  It was really easy to sew up and I used my serger for the shoulder and side seams and my twin needle for both the hems and the neckline.  The beauty of sweater knits is that the thread just kind of disappears into the fabric – so it’s really hard to detect errors or mistakes (love this!).

Fave_sweater_front_back_logo

My only worry after I sewed it up, was that I hadn’t taken into account that since the sleeves were not separately cut, they were not cut with a vertical grainline running through the middle of the sleeve cap to the wrist (like most sleeves are cut).

As you can see from the pattern, the sleeve is actually cut with the cross-wise grain going down the center – leaving the stretch of the sleeve going in the vertical direction and not the horizontal.

What does this mean?

Fave_sweater_drape_logo

Well, it means that the sleeves are pretty tight – mostly due to the fact that when I lengthened them, I also tapered them to the wrist.

I’m lucky I’m able to squeeze into them pretty comfortably, but in hindsight, I would have added ease to the sleeve for a tad more comfort.

All in all, I really like this pattern and I would definitely make it again in it’s original tee version with a solid or striped knit.  Tessuti offers many other beautiful patterns and even a few more free patterns!  Check out their site to see if there are any you’d love to download.

Lastly, if you haven’t already checked out the LWD contest on the Pattern Review website, please do!  If you like my look – please vote for me!  The prize is a $100 gift card to Sawyer Brook Fabrics – super fancy!!  Thank you for your love and support!  Have a wonderful week!

8 thoughts on “Fave Sweater

  1. Jenny

    Free pattern! It’s like Christmas! Marching over to download immediately. . .
    Your sweater looks so comfy–perfect for Netflix binges! Or for feeling like you’re wearing PJs to work :) At least your tapered sleeves look good–it’s a nice balance to the fullness of the sweater. I wonder if it would work to do a dropped shoulder seam and then cut the sleeves separately with the vertical grain.

    Reply
    1. Eleyna Post author

      hahaha! yes! It’s totally comfy and you’re right – definitely something I could wear to an all-day buffet! :P

      You’re right! I think if I make it with sweater knit again, I’ll need to make separate sleeves – I do like to have a bit more ease in the arms.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

